Myths about Astrology: #2 – “Astrology Starts and Ends with the 12 Signs of the Zodiac”

You would think that astrologers say there are only 12 types of people in the world, the way some skeptics carry on.

Astrology is the LAST study in the world that denies individuality, in fact, Astrology celebrates individuality, maybe too much.

While the popular view of astrology revolves around the 12 signs of the Zodiac, this is merely one of the building blocks of the system.

Yes, of course you are an Aries if your Sun is in the sign of Aries.

But Astrologers look at much more than just the position of the Sun in a Horoscope.

There is also this list:[list]

[list_item icon=”cog”]The other ‘Planets’: the Moon, Mercury, Venus, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune, Pluto (and Chiron)[/list_item]
[list_item icon=”cog”]The House position of the Sun and the other ‘Planets’ listed[/list_item]
[list_item icon=”cog”]The Relationships between the ‘Planets'[/list_item]

Try this multiplication: 12 Sun-signs x 12 Moon signs x 12 Ascendant-signs = 1728 unique Individual “types”

We haven’t even really started, but we already have more types than any other Typology System used in the workplace anywhere else.

Now the MBTI – the Myers-Briggs Type Indicator is a very popular Type test used in many work places. But the test fits you into one of 16 types. Personally, I have never found that it actually tells me much about myself I didn’t already know. 

I have found astrology tells me a hundred times more about myself than the MBTI test.

Let’s continue our calculation:

12 Mars-signs x 12 Jupiter signs x 12 Saturn-signs = 1728

5 Venus-signs x 3 Mercury-signs = 15

12 Uranus signs x Neptune signs x 12 Pluto signs = 1728

1728 x 1728 x 15 x 1728 = over 77 billion Individuals

Now, we haven’t even started to talk about House positions of these planets. To some extent, this will relate to the Ascendant sign. Still, it won’t be long before we come up with more individuality in Horoscopes than there have ever been people on the earth. In the whole of human history.

So, have we busted this Myth about astrology? Absolutely.

Astrology does not put people into just 12 types. Unless that is all that you choose to do with it. But you can go a lot further. And it’s not that difficult.

Our courses are designed to make it easy to go the extra steps to understand people, and ourselves, at this deeper level. Without the unnecessary fluff. Without wasting your time. Check it out. It’s a simple process of putting together building blocks. Like kids do when they first play with those coloured building blocks.

Find out more about our Practical astrology courses here.

© Rainer Rollfink, 2011, reviewed and updated 2014